Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil

246

Coordinates: 49.5505446, 25.6218499
Type of place: Religious
Entrance: Free
Parking: Not equipped
Accessibility for people with disabilities: Yes
Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil Church of Divine Mercy and Mother of God of Unceasing Help, Ternopil
History
USSR government destroyed former Ternopil parish church in 1954 and in return they built department store, leaving the parishioners without a shrine. As a reminder about the neo-gothic temple in 2017 in T. Shevchenko square was installed its small bronze model. Unworthy fate met Jesuit, which was rebuilt into a garment factory. Former Dominican church was transferred to Roman Catholic parish.
 
Revival
The centre of this revival for Ternopil parish became old Jesuit chapel, around which the construction of a new parish church and house took place. Building a temple lasted 9 years. Then head of the Catholic Church, Pope Ivan Pavlo ІІ, noticed this and blessed stumbling block used for building the shrine. So many donators from Lviv, Germany, the USA and Poland were involved into this campaign. An architect of this unusual building by its form became Ihor Chuliy who lived in Ternopil in those days. Ternopil interior artist Vasyl Kozlovsky, worked on the main altar. Famous icon painter-restorer Petro Demkovych was involved to icons painting too.
 
Nowadays
Today the Roman Catholic parish consist of more than 400 parishioners, and religious services can be heard in three languages: Ukrainian, Polish and in English, in particular for students from counties in Africa. Beauty, greatness and modernity of the church design are fascinating. According to the abbot of the church, It is smaller than it looks at first glance, but it can accommodate everyone who wants to come to the temple.

Translated by: Anastasia Krupa
History of the temple
USSR government destroyed former Ternopil parish church in 1954 and in return they built
department store, leaving the parishioners without a shrine. As a reminder about the
neo-gothic temple in 2017 in T. Shevchenko square was installed its small bronze model.
Unworthy fate met Jesuit, which was rebuilt into a garment factory. Former Dominican
church was transferred to Roman Catholic parish.
Revival
The centre of this revival for Ternopil parish became old Jesuit chapel, around which the
construction of a new parish church and house took place. Building a temple lasted 9 years.
Then head of the Catholic Church, Papa Ivan Pavlo ІІ, noticed this and blessed stumbling
block used for building the shrine. So many donators from Lviv, Germany, the USA and
Poland were involved into this campaign.
An architect of this unusual building by its form became Ihor Chuliy who lived in Ternopil in
those days. Ternopil interior artist Vasyl Kozlovsky, worked on the main altar. Famous icon
painter-restorer Petro Demkovych was involved to icons painting too.
Nowadays
Today the Roman Catholic parish consist of more than 400 parishioners, and religious
services can be heard in three languages: Ukrainian, Polish and in English, in particular for
students from counties in Africa. Beauty, greatness and modernity of the church design are
fascinating. According to the abbot of the church, It is smaller than it looks at first glance, but
it can accommodate everyone who wants to come to the temple.
Author: Bohdana Grytsiv
Переклад Anastasia Krupa
Write a comment for this product!
Name
E-mail
Please write comment
Rating for product
Interesting places of this region (0)
Copyright MAXXmarketing GmbH
JoomShopping Download & Support