The beginning of the 18th century characterizes Slobozhanshchina as an area that built very significant fortifications. At that time it was very important, as there was a serious threat from the Crimean Tatars.
Fortifications were built up from the Seversky Donets River up to the Dnieper, and the distance of the building was about 300 km. Day and night hard work was in full swing - the Cossacks, peasants (adults and children) erected fortresses with their own hands, working their hands and almost no rest, to reliably protect their homes, their families and their homeland from ruthless enemies. It was at this time, on June 23, 1731 that the Ivanovo fortress is being built up, or as it is also called - the fortress of Saint John. This fortress was first laid among the fortifications of the Ukrainian line of defense.
According to the developed plan, this fortress is a square with sides of 100 meters, on whose four sides there are bastions. The fortress is securely protected from the outer sides along the perimeter by deep moats.
The picturesque panoramas of the Berestovaya and Berestovenka river valleys open from the walls of the fortress of St. John. But time nevertheless takes its toll and the ramparts, which run from the fortress, with each year overgrown with thorns and thick grass, and in some places deep beams cross the path. So the road will not be easy..
How to get there!?
Kharkiv - Krasnograd train, get off at Novovebovka station, and then follow the instructions of the navigation device.